Immunize Canada      Immunisation Canada

‘Ask the Experts’ Event

Video: Let’s Talk Immunization – Ask the Experts

25 April 2016 (1:10:09). Please click on the image above to play the video (external link).

In support of National Immunization Awareness Week (NIAW), Immunize Canada welcomed the general public to ask a panel of experts their questions on immunization.


Expert Panel

Photo of Dr. Noni MacDonaldDr. Noni MacDonald (moderator)

Dr. MacDonald is a Professor of Paediatrics (Infectious Diseases) at Dalhousie University and the IWK Health Centre in Halifax, Canada. She is a former dean of medicine at Dalhousie University, the first woman in Canada to hold such a post. Vaccines – including vaccine safety, hesitancy, pain mitigation, education and policy, especially through her work with the World Health Organization and the Canadian Centre for Vaccinology’s Health Policy and Translation Group – are one of her major interests. She has published over 350 papers, is the founding Editor-in-Chief of Paediatrics & Child Health, and a former Editor-in-Chief of CMAJ (Canadian Medical Association Journal). Dr. MacDonald has long been recognized in Canada and internationally as an advocate for children and youth health and as a leader in paediatric infectious disease and global health.

Photo of Dr. Nicole Le SauxDr. Nicole Le Saux

Dr. Le Saux is a Clinical Investigator at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) and Research Institute Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa. She is an infectious diseases physician at CHEO, where she is currently Medical Director of Infection Prevention and Control. She is Royal College-certified in internal medicine, infectious diseases and anatomic pathology. She is also an active member of the examination board in Infectious Diseases at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons. Dr. Le Saux serves on many committees, including the Canadian Pediatric Society Infectious Diseases subcommittee and the Provincial Infectious Diseases Advisory Committee on Immunizations (PIDAC-I) of Ontario. She has published extensively in the areas of vaccines and clinical infectious diseases issues.

Photo of Dr. Allison McGeerDr. Allison McGeer

Dr. McGeer trained in internal medicine and infectious diseases at the University of Toronto, then completed a fellowship in hospital epidemiology at Yale New Haven Hospital in 1989/90 before returning to Mount Sinai Hospital.  Her areas of research interest are the epidemiology of influenza infection, the prevention of healthcare-associated infection, and adult immunization.

Photo of Dr. Ian GemmillDr. Ian Gemmill

Dr. Gemmill has been the Medical Officer of Health for Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health since 1997. From 1981 to 1997, he was the Associate Medical Officer of Health for Ottawa Public Health, and practised family medicine in Brampton, Ontario, before beginning his career in public health. He is a graduate of the Faculty of Medicine at Queen’s University at Kingston, Ontario, a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in Public Health and Preventive Medicine, an Honorary Life Member of the Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA), and a Fellow of the College of Family Physicians of Canada.


This event was made possible through funding from the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Your feedback is important!

Please complete our online survey.

Updated: 24 May 2016

Immunisation Canada      Immunize Canada

Activité « Demandez aux experts »

Vidéo : Parlons immunisation – Demandez aux experts

25 avril 2016 (00:59:13). Veuillez cliquer sur l’image ci-haut pour regarder la vidéo (lien externe).

Pour souligner la Semaine nationale de promotion de la vaccination (SNPV), Immunisation Canada a invité les membres du public à poser leurs questions sur la vaccination à un panel d’experts.

Panel d’experts

Photo de Dre. Noni MacDonaldDre Noni MacDonald (animatrice)

Dre MacDonald est professeure de pédiatrie (maladies infectieuses) à l’Université Dalhousie et au Centre de soins de santé IWK de Halifax (Canada). Elle a été doyenne de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université Dalhousie, la première femme au Canada à occuper un tel poste. Les vaccins sont parmi ses principaux sujets d’intérêt, notamment leur innocuité, la réticence face à la vaccination, l’atténuation de la douleur, la sensibilisation et les politiques vaccinales, surtout dans son travail avec l’Organisation mondiale de la santé et le Health Policy and Translation Group du Centre canadien de vaccinologie. Elle a publié plus de 350 articles; elle est rédactrice en chef fondatrice de la revue Paediatrics & Child Health et ancienne rédactrice en chef du JAMC ( Journal de l’Association médicale canadienne). Dre MacDonald est reconnue depuis longtemps au Canada et à l’étranger comme porte-parole de la santé des enfants et des jeunes et comme chef de file dans les domaines des maladies infectieuses pédiatriques et de la santé mondiale.

Photo de Dre. Nicole Le SauxDre Nicole Le Saux

Dre Le Saux est experte clinique à l’Institut de recherche du Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario (CHEO) et professeure agrégée à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle est aussi médecin spécialiste des maladies infectieuses au CHEO, où elle occupe actuellement le poste de directrice médicale de la Prévention et du contrôle des infections. Elle est agréée par le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada en médecine interne, en maladies infectieuses et en anatomo-pathologie. Elle est aussi membre active du bureau des examinateurs en maladies infectieuses du Collège royal. Dre Le Saux siège à de nombreux comités, dont le sous-comité des maladies infectieuses de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie et le Comité consultatif provincial des maladies infectieuses de l’Immunisation (CCPMI-I) de l’Ontario. Elle a beaucoup publié dans les domaines des vaccins et des maladies cliniques infectieuses.

Photo de Dre. Allison McGeerDre Allison McGeer

Dre McGeer a été formée en médecine interne et en maladies infectieuses à l’Université de Toronto, puis elle a fait des études postdoctorales en épidémiologie hospitalière à l’hôpital Yale–New Haven en 1989-1990 avant de retourner à l’hôpital Mount Sinai. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur l’épidémiologie des infections grippales, la prévention des infections nosocomiales et la vaccination des adultes.

Photo de Dr. Ian GemmillDr Ian Gemmill

Dr Gemmill est médecin-hygiéniste de la Santé publique de Kingston, Frontenac, Lennox et Addington depuis 1997. De 1981 à 1997, il a été médecin de santé publique adjoint pour Santé publique Ottawa; avant d’amorcer sa carrière en santé publique, il a exercé la médecine de famille à Brampton (Ontario). Diplômé de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université Queen’s de Kingston (Ontario), il est aussi associé du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada en santé publique et en médecine préventive, membre honoraire à vie de l’Association canadienne de santé publique (ACSP) et fellow du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada.


Vos commentaires sont importants!

Veuillez répondre à notre sondage en ligne.

Cette activité est rendue possible grâce au financement de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Mise à jour : 24 mai 2016